The Woodbridge Foundation • Charity No. 1205843 • Trustees’ Annual Report & Accounts 2025–2026 

## **THE WOODBRIDGE FOUNDATION** 

Charity Number: 1205843 

## **TRUSTEES’ ANNUAL REPORT AND ACCOUNTS** 

## For the year ended 3 April 2026 

Presented to the Charity Commission for England and Wales CIO Foundation – Registered 22 November 2023 

CIO Foundation registered in England & Wales 

Page 1 of 11 



The Woodbridge Foundation • Charity No. 1205843 • Trustees’ Annual Report & Accounts 2025–2026 

## **1. Reference and Administrative Information** 

## **Charity Details** 

|**Charity Details**||
|---|---|
|**Charity name**|The Woodbridge Foundation|
|**Charity number**|1205843|
|**Legal form**|Charitable Incorporated Organisation (CIO Foundation)|
|**Registered address**|11 Wild Deer Court, Northampton, NN5 4XY|
|||
|**Financial year**|4 April 2025 to 3 April 2026|
|**Contact email**|lchondoka@yahoo.co.uk|
|**Contact telephone**|01604 266621|
|**Operating area**|Northamptonshire|
|||



## **Trustees** 

The following trustees served throughout the year: 

|**Lucy Mwape**|Chair|
|---|---|
|**Jennifer Carby-Tailor**|Trustee|
|**Kennedy Mwanza**|Trustee|
|||



## **Key Volunteers** 

The charity continued to be supported by a team of volunteers who assist with programme delivery and community outreach. 

## **2. Structure, Governance and Management** 

## **Governing Document** 

The Woodbridge Foundation is a Charitable Incorporated Organisation (CIO Foundation), registered with the Charity Commission for England and Wales on 22 November 2023 under charity number 1205843, and governed by its Constitution dated 17 November 2023. 

## **Charitable Objects** 

_“To advance the education and training for the public benefit among people who are refugees and asylum seekers in need thereof so as to advance them in life and assist them to adapt within a new community.”_ 

## **Trustees and Governance** 

The board of trustees meets regularly to set strategic direction, review activities and approve expenditure. All three trustees were reappointed during the year by written resolution in accordance with Clause 10 of the Constitution, each for a further term of three years. Day-to-day activities are led by the Chair, Lucy Mwape. 

CIO Foundation registered in England & Wales 

Page 2 of 11 



The Woodbridge Foundation • Charity No. 1205843 • Trustees’ Annual Report & Accounts 2025–2026 

## **Risk Management** 

The trustees have considered the principal risks facing the charity and have implemented appropriate measures to manage those risks. 

The principal risks identified are: 

- reliance on a limited number of funding sources 

- safeguarding of vulnerable beneficiaries 

- protection of personal information held by the charity 

- maintaining appropriate financial controls 

To mitigate these risks the trustees: 

- review finances regularly 

- approve all charitable grants before payment 

- maintain accounting records using Xero 

- ensure bank transactions are independently reviewed 

- comply with safeguarding and data protection requirements 

The trustees review risks annually and whenever significant operational changes occur. 

## **3. Objectives and Activities** 

## **Public Benefit** 

The trustees confirm that they have had regard to the Charity Commission’s guidance on public benefit when planning and carrying out the Foundation’s activities. 

During the year the Foundation advanced its charitable purposes by providing financial assistance to refugees, asylum seekers and vulnerable individuals experiencing hardship. Support included assistance with funeral expenses and educational costs, enabling beneficiaries to overcome financial barriers and improve their ability to participate fully within their communities. 

All assistance was provided without charge and solely in furtherance of the charity’s charitable objects. 

## **Aims for the Year** 

- To continue providing direct support and charitable grants to vulnerable individuals within the charity’s beneficiary group 

- To maintain organisational capacity and governance standards 

- To pursue new grant funding to sustain and grow activities 

- To support beneficiaries facing hardship, including bereavement and educational costs 

## **4. Achievements and Performance** 

## **Charitable Grants and Direct Support** 

During the year the charity provided direct financial support to vulnerable individuals within its beneficiary group. Trustees approved charitable grants totalling £2,500, comprising: 

**Recipient / Purpose Amount (£)** 

CIO Foundation registered in England & Wales 

Page 3 of 11 



The Woodbridge Foundation • Charity No. 1205843 • Trustees’ Annual Report & Accounts 2025–2026 

|Funeral support – individual beneficiary in need (Dec 2025)|£1,000.00|
|---|---|
|Funeral support – individual beneficiary in need (Jan 2026)|£1,000.00|
|Educational / scholarship support (Mar 2026)|£500.00|
|**Total charitable grants**|**£2,500.00**|
|||



Each grant was approved by the trustees in accordance with the charity’s objects. All recipients were individuals within the charity’s beneficiary group — refugees, asylum seekers or vulnerable people in need of support to adapt within their community. Recipients’ names are held in the charity’s records but are not disclosed publicly in order to protect personal data. 

## **Administration and Legal** 

Administrative support costs of £250 were incurred during the year in respect of tasks supporting the charity’s operations. Legal costs of £80 were incurred in connection with the charity’s governance arrangements. 

## **Fundraising and Income** 

The charity received donations totalling £2,300 from The Woodbridge Family Centre during the year, received in three tranches: £300 in October 2025, £1,000 in December 2025 and £1,000 in January 2026. The Woodbridge Family Centre is a related party — see Note 5. 

## **Summary** 

|**Activity**|**Amount / Output**|
|---|---|
|||
|Charitable grants to individuals in need|£2,500 (3 grants)|
|Donations received from related party|£2,300|
|Net deficit for the year|(£529.72)|
|**Net assets at year end**|**£2,426.10**|
|||



## **5. Future Plans** 

## **New Grant Application** 

The trustees are actively preparing a new grant application to secure funding for an expanded programme of activities in the coming year, including financial literacy workshops and community support initiatives. 

## **Continue Beneficiary Support** 

The charity will continue to provide direct support to refugees, asylum seekers and vulnerable individuals in Northamptonshire, including charitable grants to those facing hardship and signposting to other services. 

CIO Foundation registered in England & Wales 

Page 4 of 11 



The Woodbridge Foundation • Charity No. 1205843 • Trustees’ Annual Report & Accounts 2025–2026 

## **Fundraising and Sustainability** 

The trustees recognise that the charity’s cash reserves are low at the year end. Securing new grant funding is the trustees’ primary priority for the coming year to ensure the charity can continue to deliver its charitable objects. 

## **Governance** 

The trustees will continue to strengthen governance arrangements, maintain the charity’s Xero accounts, adopt a formal reserves policy, and ensure all required filings to the Charity Commission are submitted on time. 

CIO Foundation registered in England & Wales 

Page 5 of 11 



The Woodbridge Foundation • Charity No. 1205843 • Trustees’ Annual Report & Accounts 2025–2026 

## **6. Financial Review** 

The financial statements cover the year from 4 April 2025 to 3 April 2026, being the charity’s second financial year. The accounts have been prepared on a receipts and payments basis in accordance with the Charities Act 2011, as the charity’s gross income did not exceed the statutory threshold for the preparation of receipts and payments accounts. 

## **Income** 

Total income for the year amounted to £2,300, comprising unrestricted donations received from The Woodbridge Family Centre. No grant income or restricted funding was received during the year. All income was received within the United Kingdom. 

## **Expenditure** 

Total payments during the year were £2,829.72, comprising: 

- Charitable grants to beneficiaries – £2,500.00 

- Administration costs – £250.00 

- Legal expenses – £80.00 

- Less bank cashback received – (£0.28) 

The trustees are satisfied that all expenditure was incurred in furtherance of the charity’s charitable purposes. 

## **Financial Position** 

The charity recorded a net deficit of £529.72 during the year. This arose because charitable grants awarded exceeded donations received during the period. The trustees consider this acceptable as available funds were applied directly for charitable purposes in accordance with the Foundation’s objectives. 

At the year end the charity held: 

   - Computer equipment (net book value): £2,356.34 

   - Cash at bank: £69.76 

- giving total net assets of £2,426.10. 

## **Reserves Policy** 

As a relatively new charity, unrestricted reserves remain modest. The trustees recognise the importance of building adequate reserves to support future activities and to protect the charity against fluctuations in income. A formal reserves policy will be adopted during the coming financial year. 

## **Going Concern** 

The trustees have reviewed the charity’s financial position and cash resources. Although unrestricted cash reserves at the year end were limited, the trustees expect further voluntary income and are actively seeking grant funding. Accordingly, they consider it appropriate to prepare these accounts on a going concern basis. 

## **Related Party Transactions** 

CIO Foundation registered in England & Wales 

Page 6 of 11 



The Woodbridge Foundation • Charity No. 1205843 • Trustees’ Annual Report & Accounts 2025–2026 

The charity received donations of £2,300 from The Woodbridge Family Centre during the year. The Woodbridge Family Centre is a related party of the charity, as trustees share professional connections with the Centre. All transactions were conducted at arm’s length. See also Note 5. 

## **7. Statement of Trustees’ Responsibilities** 

The trustees are responsible for preparing the Trustees’ Annual Report and the receipts and payments accounts for each financial year in accordance with the Charities Act 2011. 

The trustees are responsible for: 

- keeping sufficient accounting records 

- safeguarding the assets of the charity 

- taking reasonable steps for the prevention and detection of fraud and other irregularities 

- preparing receipts and payments accounts which properly reflect the charity’s financial activities for the year 

- preparing the Trustees’ Annual Report 

The trustees approved this report and the accompanying accounts on the date shown below. 

## **8. Approval and Declaration** 

The trustees declare that they have approved the Trustees’ Annual Report and the financial statements set out on the following pages. 

|**Signed (Chair)**||
|---|---|
|||
|**Date**|02/08/2026|
|**On behalf of trustees**|The Woodbridge Foundation|



CIO Foundation registered in England & Wales 

Page 7 of 11 



The Woodbridge Foundation • Charity No. 1205843 • Trustees’ Annual Report & Accounts 2025–2026 

## **9. Receipts and Payments Account** 

## **For the year ended 3 April 2026** 

|**RECEIPTS**||
|---|---|
|Donations received|£2,300.00|
|**Total Receipts**|**£2,300.00**|
|||
|||
|**PAYMENTS**||
|Charitable grants|£2,500.00|
|Administration|£250.00|
|Legal expenses|£80.00|
|Less bank cashback|(£0.28)|
|**Total Payments**|**£2,829.72**|
|||
|||
|**NET PAYMENTS OVER RECEIPTS**|**(£529.72)**|
|||
|||
|Opening funds (4 April 2025)|£2,955.82|
|**Closing funds (3 April 2026)**|**£2,426.10**|
|||



All receipts and payments arise from continuing activities. 

CIO Foundation registered in England & Wales 

Page 8 of 11 



The Woodbridge Foundation • Charity No. 1205843 • Trustees’ Annual Report & Accounts 2025–2026 

## **10. Statement of Assets and Liabilities** 

## **As at 3 April 2026** 

|**ASSETS**||
|---|---|
|Computer equipment (net book value)|£2,356.34|
|Cash at bank|£69.76|
|**Total Assets**|**£2,426.10**|
|||
|||
|**LIABILITIES**||
|The trustees confirm that the charity had no outstanding<br>liabilities requiring disclosure at the year end.||
|||
|**NET ASSETS**|**£2,426.10**|
|||
|||
|Represented by unrestricted funds||



The accounts were approved by the trustees and authorised for issue on 

|||||
|---|---|---|---|
|**Signed (Chair)**||||
|||||
|**Date**|_02/08/2026|||



Prepared in accordance with the Charities Act 2011 on a receipts and payments basis. 

CIO Foundation registered in England & Wales 

Page 9 of 11 



The Woodbridge Foundation • Charity No. 1205843 • Trustees’ Annual Report & Accounts 2025–2026 

## **11. Notes to the Accounts** 

## **Note 1 – Accounting Policies** 

Basis of preparation: The financial statements have been prepared on a receipts and payments basis in accordance with the Charities Act 2011, covering the year from 4 April 2025 to 3 April 2026. 

Income recognition: Donations are recognised when received. No grant income was received in the year. 

Fixed assets: Computer equipment is shown at cost less depreciation. The depreciation position is carried forward from Year 1 and will be reviewed in the next accounting period. 

Charitable grants: Grants to individuals are recognised as expenditure when paid. 

## **Note 2 – Income** 

|**Source**|**Amount (£)**|
|---|---|
|||
|The Woodbridge Family Centre – donation (October 2025)|£300.00|
|The Woodbridge Family Centre – donation (December 2025)|£1,000.00|
|The Woodbridge Family Centre – donation (January 2026)|£1,000.00|
|**Total Income**|**£2,300.00**|
|||



All income received is unrestricted. The Woodbridge Family Centre is a related party — see Note 5. 

## **Note 3 – Charitable Grants Paid** 

|**Purpose**|**Date Paid**|
|---|---|
|||
|Funeral support – individual beneficiary|December 2025|
|Funeral support – individual beneficiary|January 2026|
|Educational / scholarship support|March 2026|



All grants were approved by the trustees and paid to individuals within the charity’s beneficiary group. Recipients’ names are held in the charity’s records but are not disclosed publicly to protect personal data. 

## **Note 4 – Trustee Remuneration and Expenses** 

No trustee received any remuneration or had any expenses reimbursed during the year (prior period: nil). 

## **Note 5 – Related Party Transactions** 

The Woodbridge Family Centre made donations totalling £2,300 to the charity during the year. The Woodbridge Family Centre is a related party, as trustees of the Foundation share professional connections with the Centre. All transactions were conducted at arm’s length and no amounts were outstanding at the year end. 

CIO Foundation registered in England & Wales 

Page 10 of 11 



The Woodbridge Foundation • Charity No. 1205843 • Trustees’ Annual Report & Accounts 2025–2026 

## **Note 6 – Fixed Assets** 

||**(£)**|
|---|---|
|||
|||
|Cost – computer equipment (2 HP laptops and printer)|£2,411.98|
|Less: accumulated depreciation|(£55.64)|
|**Net Book Value at 3 April 2026**|**£2,356.34**|
|||



No additions or disposals were made during the year. 

## **Note 7 – Post Balance Sheet Events** 

Subsequent to the year end, the charity received further income from The Woodbridge Family Centre. There are no other material post balance sheet events to disclose. 

CIO Foundation registered in England & Wales 

Page 11 of 11 

